GO TO:   The News Room  |  The Friends   |   The Park

Facebook      Twitter


Life Membership

Life Memberships are granted to those individuals who have demonstrated significant, sustained and high-quality volunteer service over a period of years.  Life Members reflect a dedication to the values of the Friends.

Any member may nominate another for a Life Membership by submission to the Board of Directors by January 1st each year.  Full details on the requirements for nominations can be found in the Policies and Procedures section of the website (Policy #019).

Life Members are recognized with a certificate the Annual General Meeting and are exempt from membership fees. 

Life Members List

Peter & Jenny Alker

Anne Atkins

Nels Banting

Bob & Jean Beach

John & Sharon Blaney

Don & Joyce Boucher

Isabelle Brose            

Tone Careless

Liz  & Earle Chatten

John & Eileen Cockburn                     

Don Davis                   

Joanne Dewey

Sid Hadlington

Fred & Lois Helleiner 

Jane Irvine

Janette Johnston                    

Craig & Ruth Kerr                  

Don & Bonnie Ogden

Ernie & Carolyn Payette        

Nick & Bev Quickert

Anna Rittwage

Stephen & Nancy Sinclair      

Sheila Soden

Glenn & Gerry Spence

Nancy & Brian Sutton

Pat & Steve Turl                     

Ron Waddling            

Audrey E. Wilson                    

May & Bill Wilson

Volunteer of the Year Award

The John Cole award, named in honour of our first Board Chair, is given annually to the Volunteer of the Year.  The Board of Directors of the Friends has the difficult task of selecting just one Volunteer of the year from the many deserving candidates.  Our Volunteer of the Year is to be a shining example of the values of our organization and his or her service to the Friends lasts for more than just this year, of course.

John Cole Award Winners

2018                                Joyce Boucher

2017                                Janine McClintock

2016                                Joan Selwood

2015                                May Davies

2014                                Jobes Woods Trail Builders

2013                                Nancy Sutton

2012                                Jenny Alker

2011                                Jack & Lesley Scott

2010                                Ernie Payette

2009                                David Houghton

2008                                Peter Alker

We are missing some records of prior award winners and would really like to recognize everyone.  Please contact us at if you have additional information on previous winners.